Newbie Questions

Discussion in 'General Returnil discussions' started by n8chavez, Jun 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n8chavez

n8chavez Registered Member

I have used Shadow Defender for a long time. But, I got a deal I just couldn't pass up. 3 licenses for the price of 1 and 65% off by filling out the little questionnaire on the website; three licenses for $14. Great deal!!!

Anyway, I am very new to Returnil and had a couple of questions about it. I would appreciate any help here.

• How long does the license activation process take; it has been saying "Requestion Pending" a while now. (Installation ID: 0211ADEE60C76702E5F7D27A45FDBA92)
    • Returnil seems to bypass LooknStop Personal Firewall. It does not seem to need to have firewall application permission to access the internet? Why is that? Is it safe?
    • Is there a way of submitting Virus Guard false positives?
    More late (I'm sure).

2. Cudni

Cudni Global Moderator

While you wait for official response:

How long is awhile? It shouldn't be too long, did you check if LNS is actually blocking it connecting back?

I don't think it bypasses a firewall but I'm not familiar enough with LNS to advise you what setting to check/tighten

on subject of false positives
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=265835

3. Coldmoon

Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

Hi n8chavez,

1. The server is undergoing some hardware maintenance so may not be available until later tonight (US time) or tomorrow. I don't have a status on this at the moment as the server team is on Central European time. Give it until tomorrow and then shoot me a PM if the issue continues.

2. It is not designed to bypass firewalls so I would start with Cudni's advice. Be aware however that the registration will need at least one connection to the server before you turn off communications.