Newbie Questions - Differential Back-Ups

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ScottB, Feb 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ScottB

ScottB Registered Member

Newbie here with first post.

I'm trying to create a differential back-up. My plan is to once a week do a full back-up, and then a differential back-up on the other six nights. I created a full back-up and called it "Weekly Full Back-Up." I then set up a nightly differential back-up and called each file "Wednesday Difftl," "Thursday Difftl," etc. When my Wednesday differential back-up ran early this morning, it was the same size as the full back-up I did yesterday, and it appears it was a full back-up and not a differential. I check the Acronis software, and it is set for a differential back-up on Wednesday. What am I doing wrong, and why was the Wednesday back-up a full back-up and not a differential?

I suspect that I'm just not understanding differential vs. incremental back-ups completely, and that a differential back-up appends to the original file and does not create a new file. If my hunch is correct, then that explains why the Wednesday differential back-up ran as full, and likely the Thursday back-up will run as full also. I've highlighted the portion of the log file that causes me to think this.

The log-file for the Wednesday back-up is:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <log build="169" product="Acronis*True*Image*Home" task="9928355B-B64E-4250-8E42-CB37C1D8B1D6" uuid="DE75308F-269D-4A59-9B11-6A228ADCC066" version="1.0">
    <event code="2" id="1" level="2" message="The &quot; difftl - Wed&quot; operation started" module="100" time="1234350002" />
    <event code="11" id="2" level="3" message="Priority changed to Low priority" module="100" time="1234350002" />
    <event code="17" id="3" level="2" line_tag="0x64A31B1B5AFDA98A" message="" module="4" time="1234350003" />