Newbie Blues - IMON Confusion

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by mwd, Dec 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mwd

mwd Registered Member

I am new to NOD32 but believe it to be our new AV of choice. We use 2003 Server for a Cash Register Point of Sale application to about 13 clients in a simple workgroup. 1/2 in our location and 1/2 20 miles away via T1 line.

My brain is twisting over trying to understand 2 items.

1. I read IMON should be turned off on a server. We do not have to have email on our server but an internet connection is a must. Where, if any, will my protection come from potential internet garbage with IMON turned off? Am I understanding that I would have to let the garbage hit me... and then something else (AMON?) would take care of it?

2. Will we be able to use this Remote Administration with a workgroup only and not in a domain? Is it feasible on a small configuration such as ours? Can I deploy this on our main server without taxing it or should it be on a secondary server? Not quite getting this part.

Thanks...

mike

2. SKA

SKA Registered Member

3. mwd

mwd Registered Member

After talking my boss into a $1200.00 company wide anti-virus solution I shudder to think what he will say when I tell him "well we need to turn off the internet protection on the server".

I'm just hoping I don't understand this right.

4. Blackspear

Blackspear Global Moderator

Hi mwd, welcome to Wilders.

IMON will be REPLACED in version 3 with something better (from what we have been told).

IMON should be grayed out on a actual "Server" and being that it is a server no one should be accessing the internet on it anyway.

AMON will protect the server more than adequately. Your workstations will be protected by IMON.

There is a Tutorial for Workstations HERE and for the Enterprise Edition HERE

Cheers :D

5. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account