new windows + size

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by burns, Sep 14, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. burns

    burns Guest

    A trivial question ... When I open new windows they always come up really small and I have to constantly maximize them . Anything I can do to make them come up max size all the time?thanks
     
  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Happens when there is short on resources, and when it came up small the last time and you resized it but did not close it large. Try it with an IE windows, enlarge by dragging it big, close it and open again, see if that makes any difference.
     
  3. burns

    burns Guest

    I've already tried that and it didnt work. The problem only arises when I click on any link on a website. oh well. I'll just have to deal with it !
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Try it like this:

    Start IE, right click any link on a web page, and select Open in a New Window.
    Go back to the first IE window you opened and close it.
    Return to the second window and manually drag it to fill the screen.
    (Do not use the maximize button, for that's a temporary setting that will not be retained.)

    Now press the Ctrl button, and close this second window, holding the Ctrl button depressed, using 'close' in the File menu (important!).

    This should force Windows to remember the settings, and windows will now open maximized.


    Good luck,
     
  5. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    I have it occasionally, and most of time when low in resources, most with IE and sometimes with OE.
    There isn't any setting in IE to change such a thing i guess? Did not find it, maybe somewhere in other settings via windows\explorer or somewheer in that area. It is annoying, for sure.
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    There's a setting for main Internet Explorer windows, but not for windows opened by clicking hyperlinks.

    This isn't a bug, by the way. It's by design, and it's routinely solved in the manner I described.
     
  7. burns

    burns Guest

    I did exactly what you said and it works ! Thanks for your great advice !
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    4,347
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You're welcome! :)
     
  9. HeyPhil

    HeyPhil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Chicago, Il
    I'm back to this- IE is full of security holes, hard to control, and it can be frustrating to use at times. It is also slow as death compared to some other browsers. How did this gargoyle of a program get to take over the whole market? Try Mozilla, or SmartExplorer availabe at www.smarteque.com for a less stressful experience. If anyone can check this out for safety, please let me know what the results are. I found no spyware or adware after I downloaded it, nor after I loaded it, but I can't be positive I didn't delete them with Spybot or AdAware because I was not really paying as much attention when I loaded it.
     
  10. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hello,

    Sorry for you : if you d/l SmartExplorer because security issues in IE, forget it :) It's just a layer on IE and thus with all its security issues and maybe its own ones :-D

    Rgds,
     
  11. HeyPhil

    HeyPhil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Chicago, Il
    TY, JacK, but I d/l smartexporer for ease of use. I simply discovered that it doesn't have the propensity toward parasites when I visited DoxDesk.com. I trust doc, because his program (script, really) quickly found my parasites and helped me figure ways to defeat them. The best part about smarteque's browser, however, is the layout function which automatically eliminates the sizing issue altogether, as the new pages open inside the explorer, without a new instance being opened. This also increases the speed. It has a built in popup blocker which is automatically selected to on when you install, a nice function :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.