New user

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hkbs, Aug 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hkbs

hkbs Registered Member

I have just purchased and installed TI 10 (and got update 4942). I have made a bootable CD.
    When I tried a full backup, I decided to put the tib file on my E: drive (I have C and D drives of 40 gb each and an E drive of 80gb which I use mainly for storing mp3 files and photographs).
    I thought it would be better to put the tib file on a CD/DVD but Nero would not accept it.
    I would also like to know if I should set up a secure zone.

Sorry if this is very basic but I am totally new to this!

Thanks.

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

More clarification ... what do you mean by Nero not accepting it? Was the file too large to fit on a DVD? If so, when you make the image on to your E drive, you should specify a split size that would fit on a dvd disc. Many users recommend a split size of 1492 Mb (easy to remember if you live in the USA). Three of these chunks would fit on one dvd disc with little waste.

Since you have a separate drive to hold the Backup Images, I definitely wouldn't set up a SZ.

3. Long View

Long View Registered Member

Hi hkbs

My own preference is to make full images only ( no incremental or differential) to
    another partition or external drive - never direct to CD or DVD. I would forget all about Acronis Secure zone, backing up my docs, application settings or e-mail.
    Have one partition for Windows and one partition for my docs/data.

If you want to store an image on DVD I would argue that making the image to another partition AND then using NERO to burn that image to DVD will give you a better burn. Acronis have only included the direct to DVD to give the buying public what they want ( even if its no good for them).