New to Forum - Questions from a Knucklehead

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by FishLips, Feb 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FishLips

FishLips Registered Member

Hi, I'm new to Wilders, looks like a good site to stick around and learn some things.

I have a 1 month old Thinkpad, XP Pro SP1. I've installed Ad-Aware SE (free edition), Kerio Firewall (going to buy the full verion for its web filters), and I use Firefox as my browser, EXCEPT when I'm dealing with a site that uses ActiveX controls. I'm talking legitimate sites here, like my bank. Since they use sometype of ActiveX to authenticate into my account, I'm forced to use IE.

So here I go with some questions about SpywareBlaster and SpywareGuard. (Note: I've done due diligence by searching this and other forums for these answers, but I can find nothing definitive. Many of you may think "we've answered this before" but please rest assured that I've searched for a while, and while there are partial answers here and there, I find nothing that sinks in to my thick head. So here goes:

This is what I know about SpywareBlaster and SpywareGuard in a nutshell:

SpywareBlaster will allow spyware (and I'm including trojans, dialers, etc. in "spyware") to be placed on a machine but will disable it before it causes any harm.

SpywareGuard....hmmm, some say it will prevent SOME spyware, but is really simply a cookie filter - that's why most folks recommend using it with SpywareBlaster.

Questions: