New to Firewalls Questions?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by AtlBo, Mar 10, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AtlBo

AtlBo Registered Member

Just started using PrivateFirewall on XP SP3 a few months ago. I'm kind of new to firewalls, but I did go through 2 short stints with Comodo. I like PrivateFirewall much better, and the design of the program seems to me to hint at some real, solid thinking in the program. However, PF is the first firewall I have really stuck with.

I need a firewall that will primarily protect against identity theft. In this light, I guess this means protecting against keylogging and rogue screenshot apps and the like. Actually, I don't know all the angles on this. Also, I am assuming that it is basically impossible to guarantee that no rogue program could ever be downloaded to the PC because of the vulnerabilities browsers create.

All this in mind, what as a new user can I do to stop data from being transmitted through an outgoing connection? Specifically, if anyone has any experience with PF, I would like to know what to do in it. Every once in awhile I get a message that an outgoing connection has been blocked. It's always been Google or something I could explain so far. So how can I lock down all outgoing connections?

One thought...is there a firewall that gives a user the ability to declare open browser connections as safe and then all others unsafe, so they can be blocked? This seems like a fairly sure fire way to stop unwanted outgoing data transmissions.

Again new at this, so I am all over the place. Any help appreciated...

Last edited: Mar 10, 2014
  2. Wroll

Wroll Registered Member

If I were you I would try Keepass2 with two channel auto-type obfuscation for passwords, IDs, credit card numbers etc. Or some of those keyscrambler applications, but I don't know much about them because I don't use any.

http://keepass.info/help/v2/autotype_obfuscation.html

3. MrBrian

MrBrian Registered Member