** New Release **: ZoneAlarm antivirus-firewall combo 10

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by fax, May 1, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,901
    are there any (or many) pop up ads or nag screens to upgrade to the paid version?
     
  2. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    There wasn't any in the beta, but I would probably assume there arn't any...
     
  3. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I'm seeing this, same message, different hard disk volume:

    Code Integrity determined that the page hashes of an image file are not valid. The file could be improperly signed without page hashes or corrupt due to unauthorized modification. The invalid hashes could indicate a potential disk device error.

    File Name: \Device\HarddiskVolume2\Program Files\CheckPoint\ZAForceField\Plugins\ISWSHEX.dll
     
  4. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,558
    Location:
    Romania
    No,i'm not seeing any nag screens.
    Installed,rebooted and after half an hour the memory usage is huge.I have 3 gigs of RAM,but still....too much for my taste.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I talked to them about the high memory usage. According to them, the memory used does not affect the performance hit, so it is not a problem.
     
  6. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,539
    Location:
    localhost
  7. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,558
    Location:
    Romania
    Yes,they're right,it doesn't seems to affect the system but i really don't like it this way.But it's just me.
     
  8. yesnoo

    yesnoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,387
    Nowadays AV database updates are not in 1-2 bulk updates but few-many mini updates.

    So autoupdates once in 24 hours simple sucks.
     
  9. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    This might be a 64bit issue as I don't see this message on my win7 32 machine. Does this mean the forcefield integration is not working?

    Ice
     
  10. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,539
    Location:
    localhost
    No, just an audit (soft warnings) from the OS that based on the hash the file may be corrupted. You can safely ignore, the file is fine and works OK. May be ZA development will need to modify the file to make the OS happy. Probably a minor issue to be fixed in future bug fix releases? Or may be not. No idea sorry.
     
  11. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks! I figured it was ok since the 2 pc's that are running this suite work fine. I did email support on this but they have not responded. I did read somewhere that this was not an issue but I can't remember the source.

    Still, a nice piece of software and you can't beat the price.:thumb:

    Ice
     
  12. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,539
    Location:
    localhost
    Hey! I am starting to be jealous, my retail version is running an older AV engine version now!! :mad::doubt: ...... :D :D
     
  13. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I agree to a point. 24 hour auto-updates are not ideal, but as stated before, manual updates are unlimited. I perform a manual update on startup, and again a bit before shutdown.
    For what Checkpoint is giving us for free, I'm very willing to deal with this.:thumb:
     
  14. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,056
    Location:
    USA,IA
    what a good setting for application control settings should be set at?
     
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,539
    Location:
    localhost
    On a clean machine you can set it at AUTO for the first couple of weeks and then move it to Max. Done
     
  16. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,056
    Location:
    USA,IA
    What happens when you set the defensenet to auto or manual then ?
     
  17. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,539
    Location:
    localhost
    You will get a pop-up for programs not yet listed in your application list with suggestion on trusting or not depending if they are known to the central ZA database of safe application. Normally the best is to leave it as AUTO and focus more on the unknows rather than blocking the knowns. You may want to consult the online help and review the various functions and options, since there are many related program control options and conditions to get a pop-up :)
     
  18. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Back to this:thumb: I love it!
     
  19. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,825
    Can the AV be installed without the FW?

    Do you think it would be good to put it in my top-5 AVs on my site instead of Unthreat? A free Kaspersky AV would probably be better than the free Vipre AV in Unthreat.
     
  20. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    No, there is no option for a different optional install.
    It may be a good choice, as unthreat has not been updated(program) for some time.
     
  21. RejZoR

    RejZoR Polymorphic Sheep

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,230
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    What i don't like is the download dialog which also auto asks if i want to run the downloaded file. It's so annoying. And i also don't like the look of the skinned download dialog if you turn off Advanced Download scan.
     
  22. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Yes that's what stopped me from downloading this. I want a full install package not a ~6MB install that'll probally download 200MB on install. Of course this means I can't install this on PCs with slow or no internet access.
     
  23. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I just put this on my sons netbook Along side Anti-Excutable and its very nice for free,Feels light and fast.Nice job on ZA's part.
     
  24. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,901
    does the av allow configuration for on demand scan only?
     
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR Polymorphic Sheep

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,230
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Yes, but i couldn't find any setings to supress warnings about disabled components which is a bit annoying...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.