New installation - F-Secure

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by dinky1, Jun 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dinky1

dinky1 Registered Member

Today I installed F-Secure antivirus 2006 courtesy of Barclays Bank. It installed no proble, although I had to uninstall Adaware. It seems to be running fine but on doing a scan it has left me a little concerned at the log it created. I am just a novice in this AV stuff so could someone kindly take a look at it and advise. I am running Windows 2000, ZA firewall, Spyware blaster and Spybot search and destroy. Its very long. Log to follow: Thanks Di.

2. dinky1

dinky1 Registered Member

Scanning type: Perform full computer check
    Target: C:\
    Result: 854 malware found
    Backdoor.Win32.IRCBot.qc (virus)

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 11, 2006
  3. JerryM

JerryM Registered Member

Hi Di.

This may not be much help, as I do not have much expertise. However, it appears that all except the Backdoor are false positives. I am not sure why that is so.

Hopefully soon someone who can give you a better assessment will post, but maybe I can give you some assurance that you do not have 854 malware on your machine.
    I will also be interested to see how this turns out.
    Sorry that I can't be of more help.

Jerry

4. Mack Jones

Mack Jones Registered Member

Whaou...
    Strange files names Dinky ! :rolleyes:
    Seems like FSAV detects 854 times the same malware...

Off Topic: may be a good choice to mask files names, not sure that respects the forum policy...
    Sincerely,
    Mack

5. tobacco

tobacco Frequent Poster

Maybe you confused the hell out of it because 99% of those aren't songs- C:\My Music\.lol!.

6. dan_maran

dan_maran Registered Member

If you attached that as a text document it may get some more reads.