new hard drive help

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tbone52, Apr 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tbone52

tbone52 Registered Member

hello all. I currently have an old 40gig hard drive in my desktop that I would like to retire and install a new 160gig in its place. I have TI v 10.0 installed on my computer and I also have a 160 gig external drive available. Can someone please offer advice and step-by-step instructions on how to do this? I would prefer to not spend 2-3 days re-installing programs if not nessessary. I am new to this and NOT a very technical person. thanks in advance.

Windows XP home
    dell dimension 4300-512mb RAM
    Seagate external drive 160 gig

2. thomasjk

thomasjk Registered Member

Read chapter 13 of the userguide. It explains how to do what you want http://download.acronis.com/pdf/TrueImage10.0_ug.en.pdf.
    One caveat: After cloning disconnect the old drive and set the new one as master then restart the machine. These guides may also help https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=168165.

3. tbone52

Geeeez. Confused now. I did read the manual that refers to "Cloning". Reference to using the "automatic" feature also. However, after looking thru the forum, I can find several posts that reccomend NOT cloning but rather "imaging" and restoring; then booting w/ a recovery disk. Does "imaging" refer to a regular backup? TI really needs to address the issue of having a diffenitive proceedure for this. I do not wish to my new disk broken up into smaller partitions; just 1 large drive would be OK. Please need simple plain english direction. thank you

4. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

Your disk will not be broken up into smaller partitions. Since I don't know what is running on your system, it is better to make the Bootable CD media and do the procedure. You can approach this in two ways: