New and Lost

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Old_Sock, Nov 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Old_Sock

Old_Sock Registered Member

Hi everyone !!

Got the TDS-3 because heard it was fantastic ( and it looks it ) and im new to computing but i do know that in this last week my firewall has stopped 21 "attacks"

I find the help menu a little over my head ie sockets, port scans, ping etc. It seems to be written under the impression that the user knows about it in the first place.I come along not knowing diddly and its confusing!

Anyway read through Fanj post on basic set up, and if i can make head or tail of what i can actually do with TDS-3 i am DEFINATLY going to register my copy.

If anyone has any links for the dumber than usual user i would appreciate their time !!!

2. Q Section

Q Section Registered Member

Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Hello Old_Sock

Everyone is more than welcome here. By the way - welcome to Wilders Security Forums!

Everyone from newbies to old socks are treated with care and respect here at Wilders.

TDS3 is primarily a Trojan scanner. Trojans are a particlular type of bad software that are created to gather personal and private information and "send it home" so to speak. Sometimes they are used to get specific information about the connection and then use that person's computer unbeknownst to the owner even while they are online!

In TDS3 even the default settings work well but since you have followed FanJ's settings now you are really doing well! Simply scan and let TDS find anything it can out of normal and then if it has found something - post it here and someone can assist further.