Networking configuration files

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by garykyle, Aug 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. garykyle

garykyle Registered Member

Hello everyone,

I'm new to NOD32, and am trying to set up our company's network. I'm using the Administrator version to download new virus definitions from Eset, which is then mirroring to the network, and each workstation is looking at that mirror. That was easy...

What I *can't* figure out is how to do the same with the configuration file - I've managed to save a configuration file to the network via the Administrator version, but how can I get my workstations to point to it?

And will they then *always* read that file, so I can change that file once for all workstations that look at it, or do they just use that as a 'starting point' for a local configuration?

Thanks for the help,

Gary

2. YeOldeStonecat

YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    The Enterprise Edition can be used several different ways...it's quite flexible.

Usually when deploying it (I'm about to deploy another one on a new network in a few hours)...I create a configuration file based on the settings I wish....saving that config file with a name based on it's type (IE..workstations, or laptops).

I then create a custom install package..based on those configuration files...naming them similarly. Then I do the push installs. The client receives the program..with all settings.

You don't HAVE to do it that way..say you already have the NOD32 client on all your workstations with a default install. You can do a push install on top of it. Or you can sit at each one...go to system settings..and point the remote admin tab to your RAS/RAC box. Then after the heartbeat time period has elapsed (default 5 minutes)..they should appear in your RAC..and you can push the config files to them (right click each PC..new task...configuration...etc)