network adapter missing

Discussion in 'hardware' started by gery, Aug 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gery

gery Registered Member

I have a big issue with my main computer. It was hit by lightning in a terrible weather condition night and i forgot to unplug the computer.
    It started the next day but it shows that it does not have a network adapter so i can not connect to Internet .
    ADM PROCESSOR 2 GHZ
    2 GIG RAM 500 GIGS HDD
    I have tried system restore but it does not help
    Any idea please ?

2. guest

guest Guest

Check the network adapter driver first. If it shows that the driver is missing then get it from the manufacturer's website. If not, then there's a possibility of hardware problem.

3. lotuseclat79

lotuseclat79 Registered Member

Hi gery,

Just curious, but do you not have surge protection for your computer? I have an isobar Touch Master Plus protecting my desktop computer which has 1500 joules of surge supression. After you solve your current problem, you may want to look into investing is such a device.

When my power drop suffered an arc across the power meter, it destroyed most of the electronics in my house (microwave, TV, DVD, stereo, etc.), but the surge protector saved my computer. Luckily, my home owners insurance covered the situation nicely.

My guess is that without surge protection, your NIC (network interface card) may have been fried from the surge, and you may need a new one installed in your computer.

-- Tom

4. NormanF

NormanF Registered Member

Cheapest fix is to get a USB wireless adapter - a Belkin from Walmart. Insert the CD containing the drivers in your DVD-ROM drive, run the drivers install program, insert the USB wireless adapter when prompted in your USB port, close the drivers install program when its finished and reboot Windows. Your USB wireless adapter should become active when Windows boots up again. And then you should be able to connect wirelessly to the Internet.