Need Help Restoring Backup Image To New Hardware

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by gkreid, Nov 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gkreid

gkreid Registered Member

I must be getting off track somewhere, b/c this isn't working for me. I am a newbie, so maybe someone could enlighten me.

I have TI9 WS Build 3,677 and Universal Restore. I made a full back up of my 40GB file server using an 80GB usb external hard drive. I also made a universal restore boot disk.

For testing purposes, I bought a brand new 80GB hard drive for a spare pc in our office. I booted this pc using the boot cd. I chose "Add Disk" and let the software prepare my new hard drive for restoration.

Then, I chose "Recovery" from the universal restore boot disk GUI. I selected my source .tib file and my source hard drive (the 80GB external). Next, I selected the freshly prepared 80GB hard drive as my destination drive. At this point, I am prompted to click "Done" (or maybe "Finish"). At this point, my spare PC restarts. With the boot disk still in the CD-ROM drive, my spare PC states "Secondary hard disk drive 1 not found Strike the F1 key to continue. F2 to run the setup utility"

If I select F1, then a cursor blinks under the statement I just mentioned. I'm not sure if the restore is occuring at this point, or what exactly is going on. I have let this process run for over 1 hour, but nothing else ever happens.