Need help on basic rule of PrivateFirewall 7.0.25.5

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by netxman, Dec 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. netxman

netxman Registered Member

:(

I'm new to use this firewall.
    Installed this version with default settings.
    When I choose Firewall On - Filter Traffic mode, seems even Internet Explorer cannot access internet, even though I set all rules to Allow under application menu and process menu..

What should I do to allow a specified application access internet?

Please see the image and help on this, thanks.

Attached Files:

• pf.jpg
      pf.jpg
      File size:
      135.7 KB
      Views:
  2. wat0114

wat0114 Guest

Have you allowed DNS traffic, UDP, remote port 53, for svchost? Also, if the firewall logs traffic, check them for what's being blocked.

3. netxman

Thanks.

I'm not sure..all are default settings,pls see the image.

So this firewall also needs to be set up something first before we use it?

wait...how can I upload the image in advanced reply ? no option...

4. netxman

5. JoeBlack40

JoeBlack40 Registered Member

Like this.

Attached Files:

6. wat0114

wat0114 Guest

@netxman,

I've installed in the Windows 7 vm, went with the defaults and it's working fine, allowing IE. Did you check the rules for IE? There should be at least 6, as seen in the screenshot.

*EDIT*

it's even automatically adding fw rules for applications I check for updates from the first time, so it should be allowing network access for your applications that need it. Can you provide a screenshot of the log entries whenever an app is blocked?

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 27, 2011
  7. JRViejo

JRViejo Super Moderator

8. operamail

operamail Registered Member

Hi netxman,

Did you mean all programs on your computer could not access to the Internet or just IE?