Need AV, Firewall...and Virtualbox ?? anyone?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by cancelx, Apr 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cancelx

cancelx Registered Member

Hey all, newbie here, completely in the dark.... sorry in advance, and any thoughts (polite ones, haha, would be appreciated)

I have almost always installed AVG Free, ZoneAlarm Free, Spybot SD and now SuperAntiSpyware on my PCs (I build my own). Usually stay clean and zippy. I use Firefox.

Recently, out of the blue (with no software change) Firefox started displaying Empty Menu boxes, long pauses in command executions and locking (CPU was 50% and almost 1GB of 2GB Ram use).

Long story short, I tracked it to AVG Add-ons in Firefox. Disabled we are good to go, but I want a change !

After much reading (and determined to stay Free...) I have ideas, COULD PEOPLE GIVE ME PRACTICAL EXPERIENCE?

I use a simple Dual Core, 2GB Ram system, it's on (and online) a good 14 hours a day. Wired Router Connected to High Speed.

---That said...... I'm liking this arrangement:

Online Armor Free Firewall
    Avast Free 5
    (some good malware/spyware if this is not enough??)

I use Youtube a lot, MSN Chat and google for a lot of researching. I try to be mindful of all clicks, and usually check the link first by loading the "cached" version first.

--Now, I read a few reports Avast Free was worse than AVG, True ? I also read it's the best... go figure.

I'm mind boggled at this point. I even reformatted the computer when it started, worried I picked something up (I didn't) -- except every time I start and log-out of MSN, AVG reports an adbureau, or sqlite or some such tracking cookie (I read it's built into MSN).

So.............New setup look good? Missing something,? Change something?