Need advice on buying new router.

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Hugger, Oct 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hugger

Hugger Registered Member

I have a pc with Widows 7 Pro.
    Also have a printer that needs wireless in order to get full benefits from manufacturers site.
    Will be adding a new laptop shortly after the holidays. I hope.
    I have cable supplied by Cablevision/Optimum Online and use their modem.
    I need a router with wireless for the desktop pc, laptop and printer.
    It needs to be easy to setup, including the security end of it, because I get easily lost with stuff like this.
    Hope you can help.
    Thanks.
    Hugger

2. Noob

Noob Registered Member

I'm not an expert in this are and just started using recently wireless routers.

In my experience you can't go wrong with Linksys offerings (The ones that are around 100$ are pretty good and comes with ton of features)

The only problem that i've experienced is that sometimes it loses internet (I don't know if its my cheap-@$$ version (bought for 50$ retail) but when it happens just reset BOTH routers with the reset buttons and its DONE!!!) :thumb:

3. Sully

Sully Registered Member

I would agree that Linksys is in general a good brand. I have used quite a few and have yet to have issues.

I prefer Dlink routers myself. Certain firmware versions can be quirky at times. 5 minutes of research reveals the firmware that most users like (same for any router), so using the right one can go a long way towards "stability" For me, Dlink offers more options that I want. Not necessarily more complex, just more.

I had a gamer lounge gigabit model which worked absolutely picture-perfect. I needed a wireless one, so I opted for the DIR-655N. It provides me a great signal and has posed no problems in over a year of use now. I recently purchased a newer one for work, and it had a firmware that was not as grand as my older one, so I flashed it back, and all is good.