NAV 2002 BOOT FROM CD ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mr.Blaze, Jul 8, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    Hi guys=)

    The other day I had serious problems with my computer had to format c drive and do a clean install.

    but when i tryed to use my installation disks they wouldn't work=(

    Kept getting invalid disk message.

    and the windows me boot disk wasn't working as well as it should had been=(

    Turns out there was a problem in my BIOS settings that would not let me go or do anything to reinstall my operating system.

    gate way tech support list of how to reinstall Os didn't help

    And the normal reformatting presider I got at wilders made it worst lol gate way sucks and there system can be a little different then I thought.

    I played with the BIOS cause it was the only thing that would let me get in to.

    i cant remember what i played with but what ever i changed in the BIOS made it so i can boot in to DOS with my installation disk finaly=)

    then i could do what gate way list of instructions in reinstalling my operating system=)

    after i got everything back and working i did the useal stuff first reinstalled my AOL and all security applications lol=)
     
  2. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    But when I reinstalled nav 2002 I made the mistake of leaving my nav 2002 CD in the CD drive and was amazed at what happened next when I tryed to reboot as nav installation prompted me to=?

    Nav 2002 kicked into DOS i guess from CD and went on a speed demon race threw my computer checking my computer telling me certin things were OK then it went on to looking threw my whole computer for actual viruses all from DOS at a phenomenal speed.

    lol turns out what ever I played with in BIOS would let any CD on boot go threw DOS if it had DOS applications AKA such as nav rescue disk lol.

    So what IM wondering and this is where I need expert help from you pros is this.

    A was Norton really doing its job from my nav 2002 CD disk?
     
  3. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    B if it was then would it be possible to do the following.
    1 make a back up copy of my nav 2002 burned on to another CD with my burner
    2. take the updated virus definitions folder from my actual installed nav 2002 thats on my computer and replace the one on the nav 2002 CD that i got done copying.
    3 will it then be a nav 2002 with updated virus definitions CD?
    4 will this actually run from boot in DOS like befor but with updated virus definitions?

    any feed back or ideals on this matter would be aprechited=)
     
  4. controler

    controler Guest

    All I can tell you is this Blaze
    Gateway , Compaq ect have propriatery things they do
    but There is often a BIOS setting to boot from a certian order.
    Floopy then CD, then Harddrive Ect and allows you to change that odrer.
    After you format your HD you are suppose to be able to just insert your resotore CD's into the CD-ROM and they will start automaticly
    If you could boot with your Floopy disk and access your CD-ROM before formating, you should have been able to do same after formatting. Formatting had nothing to do with your BIOS unless Gateway does as Compaq did and used the first 8 meg of your hard drive as BIOS setup area.
    I myself would never own a propritery computer. I always make my own :D
    Way easier than you think.............. and you are in control of all the hardware and software.
    recovery Disks are garbage anyway...
     
  5. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    actualy you wrong i could not use instilation disks like you said i could lol hence forth me playing with the bios i dont think it was the order thing i played with i think i played with either boot or priority something something.

    wow maybe i shouls ask nav this qustion no one knows this stuff ill post my findings here soon hopefully
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.