NAS security

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by InconspicuosName, Nov 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. InconspicuosName

InconspicuosName Registered Member

Hi All,

Hello. This is a great and friendly forum, lots to learn from you guys! I'm a bit of a newbie here, so please be gentle...

I'm looking into securing my data and anonymizing, as much as one can, my online presence after all that NSA/GCHQ/PRISM stuff going on. I'm actually quite frightened by all this!

Done a bit of research into VPN and Tor and will probably set up a new machine with Debian and VMs early next year. In the meantime I'm trying to work out if there's any other potential hardware in my chain that is buggy/backdoored/potentially leaking.

I have an Acer RT-N66 Dark Knight router behind a Virgin Cablemodem, and a Seagate GoFlex NAS 'always on' drive, hooked up via Ethernet. This drive is pretty convenient for me since I do a lot of work on the go and rather have all my data on this than in the cloud. I currently access it via https on the seagateshare.com website, although I'm pretty sure I could 'dial in' to it directly.

My rather vague question now is: does anyone envisage any problems or potential security risks associated with accessing the NAS from outside my home network? Just how secure are these drives anyway? Is SSL still secure? (I heard a lot of scaremongering lately that even this has been compromised.) What precautions need I take? Does anyone have a similar setup? Or do you think it's a stupid idea to have such a drive in the first place, since its contents are not even encrypted?

Any thoughts are appreciated!

2. mirimir

mirimir Registered Member