My webroot administration

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Clive T, Dec 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Clive T

    Clive T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    I've just been looking at the online account area for one of my clients and I'm confused!

    He has three PCs registered but is about to replace one of them. How can he/I deactivate one of these PCs and replace it with the new one?

    When logging in, there's a drop down asking which console we want to open. One of them takes us to a blank page with no details, the other shows the 3 PCs. What's this about?

    Presumably support can resolve these issues but a) Wouldn't it be easier if users could do this kind of thing themselves? and b) What details does support need to reset this account?

    Otherwise, excellent prog. No issues.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    11,180
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It's best to contact the WSA support inbox http://www.webrootanywhere.com/support with these kind of Questions and or Issues as the forum is basically for product support.

    TH
     
  3. Techfox1976

    Techfox1976 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    749
    The consoles are beyond me, however the PCs should not be an issue. Support indicated previously (I can't remember where, but it matches on my testing) that the licensing system watches what is actively checking in, while the administration console watches a longer history. So you can see the PC's historic presence for quite some time (up to a month apparently) but it does not affect seat licensing.

    (When I ran a three seat license on about seven VMs constantly, it got mad at me, so the licensing system is working. XD )
     
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Once it sees one of your PCs not checking in over a few days, it should automatically realize it is no longer licensed and allow you to continue using it elsewhere. If this doesn't work and you get it blocked, please let our support team know :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.