My friend had Avast pop up during start up saying it found malware.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by cheater87, Oct 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    After a data base update a few seconds after it was detected and a reboot later it stopped popping up. I'm pretty sure that its a FP since it stopped popping up after the update but it also could be cause Avast blocked the malware. Which do you think?
     
  2. Boost

    Boost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    1,291
    Have her do a full scan,if nothing comes up,dont worry about it.
     
  3. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Ask him/her to scan his/her system with Avast. If does found something malicious then either delete it or quarantine it. Secondly before taking any action ask him/her to uplaod the same file on VirusTotal for further references..

    And last but not least do ask him/her to scan his system with Hitman Pro & MBAM (if required) ..
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,891
    did you check the virus chest and logs?
     
  5. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,090
    Location:
    West Chester Pennsylvania.
    We will check that tomorrow. Good idea. Also Hitman Pro is very light so I will see if she wants to use that as a second opinion scanner.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.