My computer was dead after first using Kaspersky

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zxpoppy, Aug 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zxpoppy

zxpoppy Registered Member

Hi, all

I am a newbie of Kaspersky.

Yesterday it was my first time of using Kaspersky. During the installation, I chose to “restart the computer later” in the final step. After a while, when I tried to open the Kaspersky, I found my computer was frozen. I think this is related to Kas, because my computer works well before that.

I restarted the computer and logged on, the right corner of screen showed " Kaspersky anti virus 2006". The computer was still frozen, I can not open task manager, control panel, and my computer.... everything is dead.

I tried to go into safe mode to uninstall this software, unfortunately, I can not go into it.

When I logged on the computer using second user account, this time I still was not able to use control panel and task manager, but I can open "my computer", so I wanted to uninstall this software directly under the program files. However, when I tried to delete the folder "Kaspersky lab", it showed that "the program is still working", so I failed to do that.

My OS is Windows XP (SP2), I have installed and using AVG on my machine.

Any suggestions on this problem? Thanks a lot in advance.

2. lodore

lodore Registered Member

3. dan_maran

dan_maran Registered Member

Above statements are true, and should be followed. But are you saying you also had AVG running at the same time as the insall of KAV? If so this is more than likely where your problem stems from.

4. zxpoppy

Yes, I am using the AVG when I tried to open the Kaspersky.

If you think this is the reason, could you give me some suggestions to solve that? MY Trouble is I can not go into safe mode or ""last good known" mode.

Thanks

5. sosaiso

sosaiso Registered Member

Could you please explain what you mean by "cannot go into safe mode"?