Multiple Full Backups

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by REVink, Mar 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. REVink

    REVink Registered Member

    Mar 27, 2009
    Hi i'm new here with the next question.

    Is it possible to create a Sheduled Full Backup without overwriting the existing one?

    I'm using Acronis True Image Home v11
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Oct 27, 2004
    The method of automated Fulls Backups management is gone with ATI 12/2009. An ATI didn't provided a repalcmeent, at least not intentionally; Vlad found a workaround described in the posted quoted below:

    #4 02:34 AM
    Vlad V
    Infrequent Poster Join Date: Dec 2008
    Posts: 1

    Re: X full backups, then delete oldest


    The latest build of ATIH 2009 (9646) allows you to get what you want, though the solution is not obvious. Here's how:
    1) At the "Backup method" step choose either "Incremental" or "Differential" method, select the "Create a new full backup after" checkbox and set "0" (zero) in the number of backups field. This will result in creating only full backups, but, in addition, will enable the "Automatic consolidation" step (disabled for the "Full" backup method), which will be needed for ensuring automatic deletion of the oldest backup.
    2) At the "Automatic consolidation" step select the "Number of backups exceeds" checkbox and set a limit of 4 backups.
    The program will create 4 full backups, then on the 5th run it will create a fifth backup thus exceeding the limit set on the number of backups. ATIH can't consolidate full backups, so it will simply delete the oldest one. This procedure will be repeated during the next task run, etc.
    P.S. You must have space for at least 5 fulls. If there is not enough room for the 5th backup, the task run will be aborted, and the program will neither create a new backup, nor delete the oldest one.
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Apr 28, 2004
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    REVink, if you use, for example, Acronis True Image 11 Home, you should re-name the backup archives to avoid the overwriting.

    You can learn more about it here

    Thank you.

    Oleg Lee
  4. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    May 14, 2005
    Yes it is possible to do exactly what you want with TI 11.
    It envolves using The TI secure zone. This can be located on any hard drive , preferably internal, but not the one you wish to protect.
    Do not activate the start up recovery manager. This can lead to undesirable consequences if you do not fully understand what it involves.

    Images saved in an Acronis secure zone for all versions prior to and including V11 are automatically named with the time and date of creation.
    None are overwritten untill the zone has filled up with more than one full image. It is only then that automatic image FIFO managemet kicks in.

    It is most unfortunate that the current version, TI 2009, has abandoned this simple and elegant method of naming and managing backup images.
    I cannot imagine why they have changed such a good and working system for one which requires devious kludges and work arounds.

  5. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Oct 27, 2004
    What you can do in the secure zone you can do in versions 10 and 11 using Backup Locations, as described inthe user guide -- that is, you can automatically run backups, have them uniquely named, and have the oldest deleted when the toatal size, age, or number of backups reaches a user specified limit. Plus you can browse the Backup Locations, copy the backups, etc. (In 12/2009, you have to doo all that stuff from within ATI.) The diff between a Backup Location and the Secure Zone is that BLs are just directories containing a spsecial config file that ATI uses while SZs are propriatary, ATI-only, partitions on your hard drive.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.