MSE?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by russland, Mar 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. russland

russland Registered Member

I have been using MSE since 1-11-2011, I had used KIS before that time. I must say that MSE performs very well on W7. I gave up on KIS because of the system drain. I have found that MSE performs very well on W7. That said, it does not protect WXP very well. I like MSE on W7, but I would not use it on WXP, There are better solutions for WXP. So what are other user opinions of MSE?

2. Cudni

Cudni Global Moderator

Check/search the forums for opinions on MSE (and just about any other AV available)

Last edited: Mar 29, 2012
  3. HKEY1952

HKEY1952 Registered Member

Installed Microsoft Security Essentials through Microsoft Update on an Microsoft WindowsXP SP3 machine quite some
    time ago, do not even know it is there. Safe surfing is intentionally not practiced on that machine. Microsoft
    Security Essentials on three seperate occations since it has been installed detected and removed attempts to drop
    Trojan Executables on the hard disk drive through Microsoft Internet Explorer Internet Cache Files. One of the
    Trojan Executables was hidden inside of an Stat Counter.

I manually update Microsoft Security Essentials often, in fact, I just made it an habbit to update the definitions
    before I start an Internet session. I like the idea of manually updating, I know the definitions are up to date.

Microsoft Security Essentials also uses Cloud Technology, so if Microsoft Security Essentials encounters an threat
    or malware where there exists no definitions in the database, the Cloud Technology of Microsoft Security Essentials
    kicks in to justify the deficit.

Who exists the capability to protect the Microsoft Windows Operating System better than Microsoft.

Also, do not underestamate the Microsoft WindowsXP SP3 Windows Firewall, also enabled on that abused machine,