MS KB890830 Critical Update Malicious...

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by AlizeZ, Aug 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlizeZ

AlizeZ Registered Member

I recently downloaded Microsoft WinXPsp2 Critical Update - KB 890830 (August v1.7) - as I have been doing regularly for past several months. After the download I ran the "notepad %windir%.....etc." to see the log and noticed that it not only told me it found "No Infections" (as it usually did), it mentioned the following which has us quite concerned:

"sys clean warning - mem scan get image path from pid (3096) win32 error
    code 0x00000057 (87): the parameter is incorrect (65).
    No infections found"

Would someone be able to tell us what this means and is it serious and can
    we correct, etc.? Please advise and thank you. (Or do I have to post to another board/form/category?)

2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

Someone with knowledge of this particular problem should see your post and respond pretty soon.

3. passing thru

passing thru Guest

I would try running the MRT tool manually by executing C:\WINDOWS\system32\MRT.exe. Before you do, open Task Manager and write down the PIDs for your running processes. If you get another similar log entry, try to match the PID in your log to the ones you wrote down. The goal is to track down the process executable responsible for the error.

4. AlizeZ

AlizeZ Registered Member

Thank you. We are senior citizens and not too familiar with computers, etc.
    #1- You mention to run "Tool Manager" and we presume that is Ctrl;Alt:Del. Is that correct? But what should we look for there (Applications, Processes, etc.)?
    #2- What are PIDs?
    #3- We looked in the Winnt/System32 and did see MRT.exe.