MRU Scan Error

Discussion in 'MRU Blaster Forum' started by squire, Dec 12, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. squire

    squire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Posts:
    20
    After installing MRU Blaster v 1.4, Database date, 12-07-02, I receive the following error, "Run Time Error 52", " Bad File Name or Number". Any suggestions please?
     
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    Could you please post more specifics?

    i.e. Your version of Windows and when this error appears (for a start).

    You may find that if this error appears during scanning, unchecking the "Windows Recent Folders" option in the Settings area of MRU-Blaster will fix it.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  3. squire

    squire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Posts:
    20
    Operating system is Windows XP Professional. The error appears before executing the scan. When "Scan" is clicked, the error appears. This is the very first click when starting the program after install. Any additional information required. please let me know. THANKS!
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    Have you tried unchecking the setting I mentioned above?

    Also, if you could provide me with what drive you have Windows installed to (and the letters of any other hard drives) it would be very helpful.

    TIA.

    -Javacool
     
  5. squire

    squire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Posts:
    20
    Javacool

    I tried unchecking "Windows Recent Folders" to no avail; still get the same error.

    Windows XP Professional Service Pack 1 (build 2600)
    1000 megahertz AMD Athlon
    768 Megabytes of ram

    Windows is installed on"C" drive, Western Digital 40g
    "D" drive Western Digital 10g, Linux Red Hat 7.3
    "F" drive CD ROM E-IDE
    "E" drive CD R-RW
    "A" floppy drive
    Lilo Boot Loader
     
  6. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    Ah - thank you.

    Could you also try unchecking the "Microsoft Office Recent Folders" option in settings and see if that doesn't fix your problem?

    TIA.

    -Javacool
     
  7. squire

    squire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Posts:
    20
    THAT DID IT! Both boxes need to be unchecked. "Windows Recent Folders" and " Microsoft Office Recent Folders".
    Thank you for all of your help and persistance. I really wanted to be able to use this program. Thanks again.

    squire
     
  8. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    You're quite welcome. :) I'm glad it is working for you now.

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
  9. D-Link

    D-Link Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    I got the same problem. Fixed by what Javacool said(unchecking "Windows Recent Folders" ). Thanks a lot. :)
     
  10. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,995
    Hopefully this error will be completely squashed in the next database release - keep your fingers crossed. ;)

    Best regards,

    -Javacool
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.