Microsoft technet professional: Any useful security tools/operating systems?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by wearetheborg, Aug 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wearetheborg

wearetheborg Registered Member

I have a microsoft technet professional subscription. Are there any useful tools/operating systems for security? Eg, does windows 2008 server more secure than win 7?

2. Johnny123

Johnny123 Registered Member

I have a Technet subscription too, there's all kinds of stuff you can try out, like the Forefront and Antigen apps. Whether or not the server OSs are more secure is questionable. I think it still depends on how you configure it. I use Server 2003 on one of my desktops, runs great. However, as in all MS OSs, you are default admin when you install it and there are services running that you may not need.

3. xxJackxx

xxJackxx Registered Member

I would call Server 2008 less secure than Windows 7 by default. The default account is admin, no UAC, no good reason to do it on a desktop. If you have a TechNet subscription I would just use Windows 7 Ultimate (which is what I do). Plus it is difficult to get a reasonable price on AV software. The free stuff usually won't run on a server OS, and the paid stuff usually requires a server version which may be quite expensive. If you want to play with Server 2008 I recommend a virtual machine.

4. Johnny123

Johnny123 Registered Member

I haven't played with 2008 R2 yet, is UAC non-existent or is it just turned off? There are a few apps that won't officially run on server OSs but actually will if you tweak the installer a bit. Prevx, Vipre, Malwarebytes, SuperAntispyware, Rising, Twister and the PCTools apps work on server OSs out of the box. Puran Defrag also works.