MicroATX Motherboard inside a Full ATX Case, Possible?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by AnthonyG, Oct 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AnthonyG

AnthonyG Registered Member

Hi,

After my MicroATX PSU is pretty much giving out. I bought myself a new ATX PSU thinking i could replace it with this. It did not fit inside my microATX case.

All the microATX PSU's i can find online are in the 200-300w range which is below my usage needs and likely why the one i have now is packing up.

Therefore i was considering buying a brand new full ATX case to replace mine and to fit up my machine with the new ATX PSU in. However my motherboard is a MiroATX Athlon XP 2200 type. Would this work putting the microatx motherboard into a new atx case?.

If so is there anything else i should look out for that may cause problems as i am not an expert on the internals of my PC.

Or are there any good ATX cases you would recommend me to buy. I would like a one without a PSU but all the needed fans included as i would just like my rebuild to be an easy one.

Thanks
    Anthony

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

yes microATX board will fit within a ATX case.

as for a case, what your price range and what size tower do u want (mid-size, full)?

3. ThunderZ

ThunderZ Registered Member