Maybe it is time for a new distro

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by cet, Jun 13, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cet

cet Registered Member

I love Ubuntu but if I have to install it again, maybe I should try another distro.Since I backed up my docs etc. and Linux is free I am free to use anything.;)
    You all have helped me and you all know that I am a linux newbie.The most important thing for me is the stability and security.I only surf on internet and read e- mails and sometimes play flash games.I do not want any compiz or eye-candy.
    I do not think Linux Mint because I can easily install java jre and flash on Ubuntu and also it comes preinstalled with javajdk.
    I was going to try Pardus but it does not update flash and java.So I do not think it is secure.
    I am thinking about PCLinuxOS or OpenSUSE.Or what would you recommend.I know many of you have gone through the way I am going years ago.You are experienced, that is very important.After I find the best distro ''for me'' I am going to contribute in translation.I want to help the other Linux users.

2. mack_guy911

mack_guy911 Registered Member

so far i didnt find any problem with any of above distro both are very good polish and rock solid

but form my experience i find open suse bit slow i didnt like default fonts install specially the partitioning part is confusing for newbies also its yast install and updates you have too many options not straight forward find little bit confusing and irritating updates are slow as compare to other distros

but if you get use to it and with to put effort and learn its one of best distro a complete distro ever made

not what the best part ofcourse yast its a complete gui tool suse is only distro which make me feel what is linux + gui really is i mean for every thing there is a tool its the only distro which provide the gui tool for apparmor till date very secure as backup by Novell very stable