Mamutu + EMET = Conflict? And other questions.

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Hungry Man, Jul 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hungry Man

Hungry Man Registered Member

I'm new to Mamutu and have a few questions.

When I look at active processes I can right click and "Protect this application from process manipulations."

1) What exactly does this mean?

2) Would this block EMET from forcing programs to run with emet.dll? Is that not a manipulation?

2. blasev

blasev Registered Member

while waiting the expert to answer, here are some explanation about the feature : -http://www.emsisoft.com/en/kb/articles/tec080308/#5.1-

3. Hungry Man

Thank you blasev. I'll have a look at that now.

I did just experience a crash while having Chrome Canary under "protection" by Mamutu and I sent them their report with a description.

edit: "Activate this option to prevent other processes from writing to the memory area of program X." Is this not how EMET works?

4. Kirk Reynolds

Kirk Reynolds Registered Member

@Hungry Man
    I know this doesn't have to do with your questions in your op, but it is related somewhat to the subject matter.

Have you noticed Chrome taking longer to establish a connection when launching it, since you've installed Mamutu? I use Chrome stable (+ EMET), and when I was trying out Mamutu on my Win7x64 machine a little while back, Chrome would take a few seconds to establish a connection whenever I launched it, but without Mamutu running, it establishes a connection almost instantly.

5. Hungry Man

I have Chrome excluded from protection because of the crash I had with it. Not sure that I noticed anything. I'll maybe give it a try later and see whether or not I notice anything.

edit: Apparently I hadn't excluded Chrome, just the updater and crash handler. I haven't noticed any slowdowns.

edit: Also, Mamutu doesn't start at startup.

Last edited: Jul 17, 2011
  6. blasev

blasev Registered Member