Mailwasher alternatives

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by twl845, Nov 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. twl845

twl845 Registered Member

Does anyone know of any reliable alternatives to Firetrusts Mailwasher? :)

2. Antarctica

Antarctica Registered Member

3. acr1965

acr1965 Registered Member

4. beethoven

beethoven Registered Member

Why do you look for an alternative? Any particular feature missing or problem?

5. twl845

twl845 Registered Member

Hi Beethoven, I have been using Mailwasher Pro for many years, and I like it. However the last 2 versions have a problem if you let Windows shut it down, where MW loses the ability to remember some things, and if you wake up your computer from standby and check your mail you get an error message saying it can't find your IP. The fix for this is to remember to manually shut down MW before you shut down or go on standby. They have been trying to overcome this since V6.1.
    I am asking if there are alternatives just to see what's out there in case it becomes necessary. :p

6. Page42

Page42 Registered Member

I've been very pleased using MailWasher Pro v5.3 since January 2007 with no real pressing need to upgrade. Maybe you could go backwards.

7. twl845

twl845 Registered Member

That has crossed my mind. Thanks for the heads up. ;)

8. silver0066

silver0066 Registered Member

I like SpamBully. It is very easy to use and works very well.

Silver

9. twl845

twl845 Registered Member

As luck would have it I found the setup.exe for V5.3 on the Mailwasher forum today and uninstalled 6.1, then installed V5.3. You still can't let Windows shut the program down, but have to manually shut it down before you shut down your computer or you'll have MW connection problems and MW having problems remembering sometimes. Check out the forum for comments on that. http://forum.firetrust.com/

10. Page42

Page42 Registered Member