Macrium Update

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Antarctica, Sep 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Antarctica

Antarctica Registered Member

2. Raza0007

Raza0007 Registered Member

o_O

I have been using V5 for the last 2 months!

3. Antarctica

Antarctica Registered Member

Sorry.:oops:

4. LoneWolf

LoneWolf Registered Member

So how is v5 compared to 4.2?
    I have yet to try the new version.
    Was it worth the upgrade price?

5. Raza0007

Unless you get a good deal, I would stick with v4 for the time being as it works with windows 7 and hopefully will keep on working as long as Win 7 is not changed drastically in SP2. I upgraded as I got an excellent deal during bulk purchase. I would have waited otherwise.

Other reasons for upgrade are that anything new will only be added to v5 from now on and v4 will be relegated to security updates only. Also considering that after upgrade you are eligible to receive free updates/support for that version and looking at the amount of time v4 was around, a down payment on v5 now would ensure that you don't have to spend any more money on a backup utility for at least 2 years.

I have not noticed any improvement in v5 vs v4. Granted the rescue media is now Win 7 based vs v4's Vista based, but if v4's rescue media worked for you then you would not notice any difference after upgrading to v5.

6. Divenow

Divenow Registered Member

Oh, there is no v5 free version. Only 4.2 free.

7. Raza0007

The parts upgraded in v5 are not available in the free version anyway, so this probably the reason they have not released any free version of v5.

What you are getting now in the free version of v4.2 is what you will get if there was a free v5. So, you are not missing anything.

8. napoleon1815

napoleon1815 Registered Member

I'm tempted...just got a 50% off email from Macrium since I own v4.x...I had no issue with v4.x, but never used it as much as IFW/IFL and DS...

9. Raza0007