Love, Hate, Like, Dislike about ESS

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by surfer1000, Jun 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. surfer1000

surfer1000 Registered Member

Hi folks, im new to ESS and after having a successful trial, i purchased a 3 year licence. I have now been using the program for about 2 months and I thought id share my feelings on the program.

Im using the latest build on Vista Ultimate 32bit.

Lets start with the good stuff!

Love, the fact that the program installs without the need of a reboot, i find this amazing, for an Anti-Virus!
    Love, the fact you can export/import your settings.
    Love, that all my ports are "stealth"
    Love, that the firewall never bothers me, not once! (Set as default, Automatic)
    Love, the fact that the programs uninstaller does exactly what it says on the tin!
    Love, the way Eset just concentrate on making a great AV product, and not add bells and whistles like "Tune Up" & "Back Up Online" utilities.
    Love, having UK based technical support on the phone.

Like, the nice clean GUI.
    Like, the responsivness of the program.
    Like, Eset listing a changelog for the program.

Dislike, Generally no updates at the weekend. I have read other posts about this and that its not a problem, but look at it this way.....if there is enough new viruses that we get 3-5 updates Monday-Friday each day, surely that must say that if none are issued at the weekend there must be a higher level of security risk! I can only hope that that virus writers dont eventually expolit this fact with Eset users.
    Dislike, not having a pop up notification of when email is being scanned.
    Dislike having to have the Anti Spam Module installed, and the fact that disabling it causes a "!" to appear in my protection status window. It spoils the look!
    Dislike, my licence details sometimes disappear with certain updates, then eventually reappear with a newer update.