Losing Emails - Mail Security 4.3 for Exchange

Discussion in 'Other ESET Business Products' started by xpcomputers, Jul 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xpcomputers

xpcomputers Registered Member

Hi,

I just inherited the management of an Exchange Server 2007 (on SBS 2008 ) which is configured with Mail Security 4.3.10016.0

I'm informed they've been losing emails, but they or I have no idea of the extent of the problem, or what needs reconfiguring to sort it out. I am completely new to Mail Security, (and also to Exchange 2007... talk about in at the deep end!). I don't know if the original setup/config was flawed or just not optimised and tweaked. I do know that it business critical.

I've been scouring the manual but not yet found an overview of how Mail Security interacts with Exchange, and therefore what settings should be in Exchange. I assume it is somewhere in the Eset manual, but haven't found it yet.

The most urgent question is:
    Does Eset Mail Security replace or interact with Exchange's own Anti-Spam feature in the Hub Transport?

I need to immediately stem the loss, which will buy me time to resolve the problems and tweak & tune the various settings in Exchange and Eset.

Will setting a quarantine mailbox in Exchange Hub Transport, capture all emails and therefore stop the loss, and show me how big the problem is... or has Eset already rejected/dumped some emails by that point?

What is the order of the anti-spam processing chain? Does Exchange Anti-Spam call Eset Mail Security as a module, which then sets various detection parameters, and exchange then deals with processing the detections set by Eset? Or something else?

As well as answering my immediate most pressing questions, if someone can point me to some useful material which covers how Eset interacts with Exchange (and therefore what settings I should use in Exchange itself), I'd be most grateful.

Thanks

Mike

Last edited: Aug 2, 2011
  2. xpcomputers