Looking for balanced, quiet protection

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by MarkW, Mar 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MarkW

MarkW Registered Member

I'm about to plug in a brand new system and am installing security. I am far from an IT professional and as such am in search for a quiet layering of protection that doesn't overly-tax my system. Specifically, I'm asking about real time protection.

I'm choosing to run XP for as long as possible. My system which doubles as a DAW (digital audio workstation) is:

Intel D975XBX2KR Bad Axe 2 Mobo, Intel® Core™2 Duo 2.4GHz E6600, Corsair 4GB [2(2 x 1GB kit)] 5300 DDR2 SDRAM, NVidia 8600GT Graphics, PreSonus Firebox Firewire audio interface/sound card recording system, 4 Seagate 320GB 7200.10 16MB cache HDDs. Seagate External Backup.

Based on past experience and what I've learned in the last couple months, my thoughts are leaning toward:

1. CounterSpy v2
    2. Nod32 v3
    3. Outpost Firewall Pro + hard router
    4. ella for SpamControl

I intend to have have Ccleaner, Search & Destroy and SAS on call and I use Ccleaner daily (habit). I've used Prevx for over a year but am thinking of dropping it. Also, I'm thinking of replacing Spy Sweeper with CounterSpy. I practice very safe hex - my last infection was 2003.

Given the current state of affairs, are there any holes in the above 4 together that y'all would recommend I address?

Thanks,
    -Mark

Last edited: Mar 25, 2008
  2. lucas1985

lucas1985 Retired Moderator

Your setup is more than enough.

3. Threedog

Threedog Registered Member