Linux doubts

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by s23, Aug 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. s23

s23 Registered Member

Hey guys..need some information... installed today Linux Mint and so far i'm liking it so much (mainly resource usage - Half of the amount of RAM compared with vista). I'm a beginner... so i'm asking here for a simple and easy firewall gui... im' thinking in one because i'm not behind a router. I take a read at search results but not found something really elucidative. Make some search in the net and i found this 3 :

guarddog
    kmyfirewall
    firestarter

Firestarter i used some time ago... and found it good and easy to do things.... but i read it is not more developed... is true?

The other 2 is easy to use and possibility configure ICMP like firestarter?

'im thinking in add safesquid too... is good? installed it here to see the configurations ad liked much in a first moment. Option to use kaspersky, f-prot and some others av engines to scan traffic and options to filter alot of things. is a good complement? is necessary in a home user PC?

thx in advance

2. FastGame

FastGame Registered Member

All ports are closed by default so no need to worry. If you still want a GUI for firewall, look in Synaptic Package Manage for GUFW, that works great.

You don't need an AV for Linux.

3. tsec

tsec Registered Member

Yep and yep.

Note too that the FW's mentioned are but GUI's for the Linux FW called IPTables.

I have Firestarter installed here (Ubu 9.04) but only for looking at alerts when something out of the ordinary happens. Of course this can be achieved with SNORT which I will be looking at shortly :)

4. chronomatic

chronomatic Registered Member