LibreOffice

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by vasa1, Sep 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,029
  2. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,222
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    So, when is the official 2.5 scheduled for release then? At this rate, I may go back to OO.
     
  3. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,029
    Excellent. Let us know how you get along.
     
  4. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,222
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I'm just not so sure that LibO needs a Chrome-style rapid release cycle.

    *Holds back temptation to say 'smartarse' out aloud ... * ;)
     
  5. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,029
  6. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16,914
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  7. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,222
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  8. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,222
    Location:
    Lloegyr
  9. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,007
    A program that crashes because of IE9 is just incompatible with the current Windows 7, and should be modified accordingly.

    About LibreOffice and OO, it is a source of confusion for users and an utterly waste of resources to continue developing these two "projects" in parallel. At least one of the two should be abandoned.
     
  10. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,222
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Is that necessarily true? I thought IE (9 or otherwise) could be completely uninstalled from Win 7. There could be a plethora of reasons why people are suffering crashes. It obviously isn't affecting everyone either. I haven't noticed it yet anyway. Although to be fair I don't use OO much, if at all.

    It's nice to have the choice. There's nothing wrong with a good fork. ;)
     
  11. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,029
  12. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,222
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Thanks for the head's up. :thumb:
     
  13. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    Seems the 3.4.4.1 portable download is down at the moment? The other download is ok for me though.
     
  14. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16,914
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  15. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,222
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    LibreOffice 3.5.0 Final (2012-02-14)

    "When you visit this page, we try to detect your system, and offer you the right download automatically, but we may not succeed in all cases."

    It helps if you have Java enabled when you visit the site.
     
  16. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,029
    Did you mean javascript?
     
  17. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,222
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Yes, sorry. :p :D
     
  18. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,222
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    "For Windows users that have OpenOffice.org installed, we advise uninstalling that beforehand, because it registers the same file type associations."

    I recommend this as well.
     
  19. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    16,914
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  20. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,029
    LibreOffice comes to the Intel AppUp center

    Intel AppUp: never heard of it but "The Intel AppUpSM center delivers all the latest PC apps, all in one convenient place. With tons of apps from functional to fun-there's no better place to get more out of your PC than the Intel AppUpSM center.

    Every app is scanned by Intel for your protection. And if you don't love your new app you get your money back, guaranteed." LibreOffice is free:
    http://www.appup.com/app-details/LibreOffice ;)

    Edit: "and will provide an exciting feature for all Ultrabook users" from http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/02/23/intel_libreoffice_the_document_foundation/
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2012
  21. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,029
    There's more here.
    But there are a few things that I don't quite get:
    Why do they now refer to "LibreOffice for Windows from SUSE"? Previous versions didn't have this qualifier.
    Is this an official "fork" since (Intel) "engineers have worked with the LibreOffice codebase to optimize it for Intel hardware"? If it indeed being optimized for Intel hardware, why restrict their efforts to just Windows?
     
  22. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,029
    LibreOffice on track for cloud service next month
    Edit: Oops!
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2012
  23. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    7,222
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    OK, I was a huge fan of LibO when it was first released. I have been upgrading it as the releases came out. Today with 3.5.1 I tried to run an Impress presentation. It would not run on any of my computers but would run on a portable Open Office version. I have uninstalled LibO & gone back to Open Office which works perfectly.

    As soon as I can remember my LibO forum password I will post about this problem.

    For the foreseeable future I am sticking with Open Office.

    Nice try LibO ... but no cigar. :mad:
     
  24. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,134
    Location:
    Slovakia
  25. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,029
    I'm not sure I understood your issue, but if I don't want to copy formulas, I just "paste special" and untick "paste all" and "formulae". This is with 3.4.4. I haven't moved to 3.5.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.