Lavabit - Private E-Mail Service Shutsdown

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by x942, Aug 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. x942

x942 Guest

-https://lavabit.com-

2. LockBox

LockBox Registered Member

Wow. Well, I warned against Lavabit recently for this very reason (based in Texas). But I'm not happy about it. I think the guy said what he could and said it well. It's a shame. I wish him all the best.

3. Taliscicero

Taliscicero Registered Member

I have over 2000 personal and business emails on Lavabit. I used it for just about everything, it will hurt my business and i will lose money. I cannot even log in to retrieve my emails. I just re-subscribed for another year just a few days ago. I can't get my emails, or my money back. I know its not Lavabits fault, I wonder if many people like myself would have a valid legal suit against which ever branch of the US government closed down and took away the servers. I am a UK resident, not a US resident, and i'm being adversely effected by their laws. There has to be some valid legal reason why this should not and can not be done under my human rights to privacy and my intellectual property "emails" being taken away by a foreign power.

4. Taliscicero

Also, anyone know any other email providers with asynchronous encryption of their emails? I know there was at-least one out there. Why? I have to make another email address because the US GOV want's to play king of the world with other countries citizens data.

5. x942

x942 Guest

EDIT: check out this post https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=351466 for an alternative.

6. Taliscicero

7. EncryptedBytes

EncryptedBytes Registered Member