Know a good firewall loaded w/ features?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by broken, Jun 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. broken

broken Guest

Hello
    I'm looking for a good solid firewall (pay or free) that uses little system resources. But has alot of features. Like ad blocking(web bug blocking), Java & active x Blocking, Browser info blocking, and other features (generally the more the better). I am still somewhat new to this so hopefully there is a good firewall available that you don't have to have an I.Q. over 500 to operate. Thanks for any help.

2. BlitzenZeus

BlitzenZeus Security Expert

I suggest you check out programs like Outpost Pro, or Zone Alarm Pro. However neither are light on resources....

These days featuers = bloat, unlike the old days when you had programs like AtGuard which the install fit on a floppy disk, and had just as many, if not more features than many of these bloated firewall security suites.

3. meneer

meneer Registered Member

Why the constant focus on low system resources :rolleyes:

If this really is important: state what system you use and what other software you use. Indeed I too can recall one of the most addictive games ever, Manic Miner, ran in 41 Kbyte of ram. But since we always need more functionality (objectively and subjectively spreaking) resources just follow our needs.

4. hydroracer

hydroracer Registered Member

well if you have an old machine sitting around doing nothing, you could get
    Smoothwall and use that. its a linux based app and after you get the hang of it you can make it run off of a floppy. its not real easy, but it is do-able

http://www.linuxiso.org/distro.php?distro=57

5. Paranoid2000

Paranoid2000 Registered Member