Kerio 2.1.5???? old ZA what is best & where

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Wills, Feb 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wills

Wills Registered Member

I mentioned that I tried ZA Pro 5, much more than a firewall and too many bells and whistles. I got rid of the resource hog. I am still looking for a good firewall that is simply a "firewall" and no popup blocker etc. and all these other goodies that I don't want.

In viewing other forums I see Kerio 2.1.5 touted as a good basic firewall.

Is there a lot of rule setting as is mentioned with sygate?

I am a Novice and learn by research and by reading.

I look forward to all replies and experiences, thankyou.

2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

You might check these kerio 2.1.5 settings here

bigc

3. Kerodo

Kerodo Registered Member

Yes, Kerio 2.1.5 is all rule driven. You pretty much have to like rules to use Kerio I would say. If you prefer something simpler, you might want to consider something else. It's not hard to learn with a little effort though.

4. Honyak

Honyak Registered Member

BigC's link will give you a good basic default ruleset to D/L and install in Kerio 2.1.5 and also other good information on rules. If you follow BZ's instruction it is very easy to install the rules.
    It is not hard to learn but you will have to spend some time at it. I am a novice also and previously used Sygate.

5. Mr2cents

Mr2cents Registered Member

Ditto to everything Honyak said. I also went from sygate to kero 2.1.5. I also followed BZ's instructions. The kerio-tiny support forum over at dslreports.com will help you a lot. It's not that hard to set up kerio. It will require some effort on your part to learn how to make rules. Don't let rulemaking intimidate you. You can do it.