Keepass & Usage Advice requested

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by SandyD, Oct 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SandyD

SandyD Registered Member

I have been using Keepass for a few years now and could not manage my user names, passwords, logins, url without it.
    I have the program installed on my prime pc (80% usage ) and my secondary work station (20%) at a different location and sync the databases manually from time to time.

I have a strong password but for reasons I forgot do not use a Key file anymore - may have had something to with using keepass at more than one location.

The above set-up is pretty convenient for me and I am confident that my password is strong enough to withstand "normal" cracks.
    I am just wondering if I am not running a high risk with only having the masterpassword. As long as I keep my pc clean, I guess i am ok. However, if for some reason I did catch a keylogger , I suppose it would take only a day or so for my masterpassword to become apparent. If the bad guys can call home, then my KP database and password would be available - so what steps should I take to prevent that?

Ideally a solution should be convenient too - it should not get too complicated with respect to access for myself at different locations.

Hopefully some experts out there can give me some pointers :)

2. I no more

I no more Registered Member

What you've done is enough. You can't prepare for every possible eventuality. I think you understand the situation pretty well.

However, I'll add some fuel to the fire. You did mention internet-based attacks, but don't forget about attacks due to physical access, especially at work. It would be much easier for someone to compromise your system with physical access. In order to prevent that you would probably need some disk encryption, either volume or preferably full system encryption. But I won't recommend that because it's not a simple solution.