KeePass or LasPass?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Montmorency, Jun 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Montmorency

Montmorency Registered Member

Hello.

I've been using LastPass for the last 18 months and was happy with it.
    The last update, though (both to the program and the site) is putting me off a bit.
    I've installed KeeFox/KeePass and so far I'm having basically the same (positive) user experience; so I'm considering a change.

Could some of you share your views?

Thanks.

2. java dude

java dude Registered Member

Personally, I love KeePass. I switched from LastPass about a year ago and couldn't be happier. It just feels a lot more secure having my passwords stored locally versus in the cloud, and that, as I've learned, is 1000000x better than a bit of convenience. As a note, I don't use KeeFox for integration.

Yes, it's more hassle if you use multiple PCs (keeping the databases in sync), but I suppose that could easily be accomplished with SpiderOak or a similar cloud storage + sync service if you're into that.

Then again, this is coming from someone who was burned by the cloud once and has taken a great effort to try and prevent it from happening again. :p

3. guest

guest Guest

LastPass is better and more convenient. People saying that LastPass is somewhat less safe because it's "cloud based" don't have a clue what they are saying and how LastPass actually works.

4. DBone

DBone Registered Member

LastPass here too. Not even close.

5. Page42

Page42 Registered Member

KeePass is what I use, and I couldn't be happier.
    I too like that KeePass stores passwords locally.
    Despite what some posters say about not having a clue, I'm not too keen about having my passwords stored in the cloud.
    As a browser extension, I am aware that LastPass has been exploited.