KAV Crashing - Time to change again, I guess

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by richrf, Aug 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. richrf

richrf Registered Member

Hi guys,

It has been awhile since I've been here. Quiet times. But times have changed and so must I. I've been using ZoneAlarm and KAV in combination for a few years, but the two have now evolved into a living mess.

I am running ZA 7 along with KAV 6 and the darn machine freezes because of a KAV crash two or three times a day. Apparently, this is a common problem among ZA and Kaspersky users. It super annoying, since the machine freezes for about 10 minutes, while it does what it has to do. I don't want to pull the plug, since I don't want to corrupt the machine.

So, here is my question. Where are we at nowadays? Are people running ZA firewall with the ZA AV, or are they going with ZA and some other AV such as McAfee, or what? A couple of good choices would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Rich

2. larryb52

larryb52 Registered Member

I've used Look n stop & Nod32 with good success on my laptop but backed it up with anti malware Grisoft...

3. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

Have you considered leaving ZA instead of KAV? Just a thought...

4. richrf

richrf Registered Member

Yes, this is of course a possibility. The reasons for leaving KAV are two-fold:

1) It's KAV that keeps crashing.

2) KAV support is non-existent.

I think you would agree that it would be difficult to keep software products from this type of vendor, but I would like to hear contrary experiences, since I want to be expeditious but thorough in my due diligence. I really have to get things changed on my machine. It has really deterioriated quite a bit since the last couple of KAV updates.

Thanks for your response.

Rich

5. richrf

richrf Registered Member

Hi,