KAV 5.0 Download files scan

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by It'sme, Jul 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. It'sme

It'sme Guest

Hello all,

I'm new to KAV (and this board) - looking to upgrade from AVG Free and am currently trialling KAV 5.0.142. I have reviewed a lot of write-ups and have decided KAV is for me.

The question I have relates directly to the functioning of V5.0.142 and is based on that I was accustomed to with AVG.

I am able to select an option to 'scan individual file downloaded on completion' within my file downloader. Basically I select the option, give it the path of my virus scanner .exe and it reads in the name of the file being downloaded from a vriable $f.

My question is:

How do I use this option under KAV 5.0.?
    When I give the file downloader the path of the kav.exe, on completion of the download it just opens up the main KAV interface screen and does not scan the file.

The function I am after is the same as the ability to scan single objects on demand - just like when you right-mouse on an object and select 'scan for viruses'.

I figure the ability to do this must be there, just that I can't finf it and it doesn't appear to be documented.

Thanks for any pointers.

2. tazdevl

tazdevl Registered Member

You can't. KAV Personal 5.0 does not have a command line executable. Personal Pro 5.o which will be coming out in a couple months will have it.

Either right click and scan... or of there is a virus there it will be caught when you execute the file or it will be caught during a manual scan.

3. It'sme

It'sme Guest

I thought that was the case. Thanks very much for the prompt and very precise response. From what you say, I am protected anyway.

I will keep an eye out for Personal Pro 5.o version.

4. Tassie_Devils

Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

YEP, and actually it probably will catch it even BEFORE you get to accepting the download file..