Just when I need it - didn't happen

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by penandme, Feb 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. penandme

penandme Registered Member

Hi

I have FD-ISR on win 2k v3.05 and needed it today.

Admittedly I am pretty new to it and maybe i am doing something wrong -
    Went to open the computer and winnt\system32\config\system file is corrupt or missing.
    That will be a sinch says me...just go back to the snapshot I did on the 4th Feb. Didn't happen. When booting through FD the same error message came up repeatedly. The only way i fixed it was though the Win2k CD repair.

Is it the way I have done my snapshot or do you know of similar incidences. Thx

2. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

Hard to say unless when you updated the snapshot, you were already bad.

So now that it's fixed, and your system is good, update the 2nd snapshot and boot to it and test boot to it. It should be good.

If all is good then image your system and then screw up one of the snapshots and test again.

Pete

PS Since you have the fullv version make an archive on another disk.

3. penandme

penandme Registered Member

I'll do that Peter2150 and let the group know.

If I had the probelm b4 it would not have booted the previous boot so I am shrugging my shoulders.:doubt:
    More later Thx

4. DVD+R

DVD+R Registered Member

Another extract from the FDISR problems, yet nobody will admit It isnt all its made up to be. Regardless of who does or who doesnt have problems, the fact of the matter is this product certainly has more than enough.

5. EASTER

EASTER Registered Member

I notice on your sig you have RollbackRx also installed which may or may not gel as expected. Even so, and assuming Rx plays no part in what you experienced the key factor in assuring 100% recovery is archiving to either another partition or more preferable another hard drive then pull it for emergency storage.