Jetico - how to allow LAN pcs to connect?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Billy Goat, Jun 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Billy Goat

Billy Goat Registered Member

Hi, everyone.. first time posting, after reading some great tips in this forum.

Jetico is working great, but I cannot connect to any of the other machines on my home LAN unless I choose "Allow All" or "shut down firewall". When I do either of those, I can connect instantly to the other machines on my home LAN.

I am new to rule-based firewalls, after several years using Zone Alarm and really want to stay with Jetico PF. I need to find a fix and it is probably something simple that I have overlooked due to my inexperience.

Jetico's support emailed me with a tip but it did not work: "In "System Internet Zone" table you can find "Allow incoming UDP broadcasts" rules. Try to swich them on."

I tried it, it did't work. I even tried a tip from the forum that said to remove the checkmark from "stateful inspection" on the protocol section of a couple of items, regarding TCP and UDP, but that did't work either.

Thank you in advance for any help that can fix this problem and help me understand it. :)

2. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

3. Billy Goat

Thanks for the URLs, Mrkvonic... unfortunately, they are the same tips that I had already tried and they did not work. I just tried them again and still no success. :(

The only clue I have, but no idea how to fix it, is that when I try to access my other LAN machines while in Optimum Policy, is that there is a lot of activity in various tables around the "Block all Not Processess Packets" rules.

I tried removing those rules and tried amending them, but still could not access my other machines. the only way I can access my other machines is by either turning the firewall off completely, or by using "Allow All" policy.