ISHOSTS32.exe

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by PCrookie, Feb 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PCrookie

PCrookie Registered Member

Hello,
    ISHOSTS32.exe is TRYING to run on my computer. I deny it each time using avast software (which is alerting me of the problem). I am a rookie. Can anyone tell me if this is a nice exe or a bad exe? Thank you. I am an explorer user, using windows xp with all the upgrades.

2. TopperID

TopperID Registered Member

Yes, this looks like a baddy. Can you give us the file path and exact name given by avast? If it is listed as running in Task Manager you should try 'ending the process' there. Also you could click Start/Run/msconfig to see whether it is listed in the Startup tab.

In the first instance you could try the following routine, which may enable Avast to deal with it:-

To start with you should disable system restore as per here:- http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial56.html

Then clear out all your temp files, and the easy way to do that is by downloading CCleaner from here:- http://www.ccleaner.com/

Then you need to open Windows Explorer and:-
    1. Select "Tools" from the menu on top.
    2. Select "Folder Options".
    3. Select the "View" tab.
    4. Scroll down and Select "Show hidden files and folders".
    5. Unselect "Hide extentions for known file types".
    6. Unselect "Hide protected operating system files".
    7. If you get a "warning" prompt, say yes you want to do it anyway.
    8. Click Apply and Ok.

Finally you should go into Safe Mode; see here:- http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/tutorial61.html

and do a full system scan with your AV.

Let us know whether this helps.

3. PCrookie