is there anything wrong?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by manju, Jan 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. manju

manju Guest

Folks,
    I am a newbie dumb user and perhaps this is the wrong place to post in which case I will apologize in advance. I need all your help ...

My computer is a 1.8ghz P3 compaq and I have Symantec Corporate firewall, Anti-virus. I also have run Spybot, Ad-aware, spysweeper, Microsoft's new Giant anti-spyware, TDS-3 and have recently downloaded wormguard and process guard. Inspite of me looking for all this, I dont think I have found any spy or trojan but if i look at my task manager, I see under the performance tab that my cpu is being used 20% all the time with small spikes going from 20-40% periodically. what I cant figure is my processes window says that my system is idle for about 90+% whereas the graph under the performance tab says that the floor of the resources is about 20% doing what?.... Is there something that is happening that I know of (trojan, worm, etc?).

Also my cd drawer is refusing to eject from about 3 weeks. It functions perfect when the system is starting up (after reboot) but after my system is on for about 20 minutes, the drawer is stuck.... I have heard of trojans/worms doing such things....

Any ideas... I can run process guard or hijack this and submit the logs... would u folks please help me..... I would appreciate it very much.
    Also, i did a cursory glance at the forum threads... so If this is the wrong place for me to post and if i have missed out reading any threads containing this kind of problems... Please excuse my sloppiness ..

Thanks in advance
    regards
    manju

2. Pilli

Pilli Registered Member

Hi manju, Can you please go here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=50662.
    We no longer do HJT logs here as a rule but if you go through the procedure shown in the link above you should be able to clean your machine successfully.