Is there a more efficient way to backup and encrypt my data? (to the cloud)

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Dchz92, Jun 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dchz92

Dchz92 Registered Member

This is the setup I have been using for the past 10 years. There are a few categories of data that I backup (such as my software collection, or project notes I am working on etc.).

For example, my software collection:
    I will have all my applications and software in a folder d:\My software collection and will use WinZip to put it all into a file and then encrypt that file and then upload it to an online clouding site.

From that point on, whenever I download or purchase new software, I will put it into a folder called d:\My software collection\New Software.
    In 3-6 months, I will probably want to backup all the new software in that folder and create a new Zip file, encrypt it and cloud the updates.

Another Example is my project notes:
    I have a folder called d:\My Projects where I will work on various personal projects (such as eating healthier) which will be constantly updated every day. I already use syncing program to easily backup my data locally, but what about online backup?

The difference is that unlike "My software collection", I do not have a folder called "New Projects," so I have to manually find all files modified after a certain date and WinZip only those files to backup into an encrypted container and then upload it to my cloud service.

I realize that I have to do everything manually and was wondering if anyone knows a better more efficient way to backup encrypted data?

2. newbino

newbino Registered Member

This thread is only partially relevant but can give you some ideas.