Is SpywareGuard still worth running?

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by TopperID, Dec 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TopperID

TopperID Registered Member

I have been running SG for many months and during that time there have been no updates at all. With this in mind, just how much value is the signature based aspect of SG - is it even worth running at all?

I realise that there are other functions to SG, such as browser hijack warnings, but this protection is available from other products. Does the download protection aspect of SG achieve sufficient results to render it worth continuing to run?

One has to balance resource utilization against benefits gained. What do others feel?

2. ~*Nat*~

~*Nat*~ Registered Member

To be honest...I ask myself the same questions, TopperID.

This was not a very intelligent and informatic reply, I know, but wanted to let you know, you're not alone.

3. Detox

Detox Retired Moderator

I think this depends on the user, the pc, and other software that you may want to use or are using.

I keep SG installed and running as an added layer of protection (especially the heuristics aspect) and I don't find it using much resources, but then I've got plenty of extra power on this machine.

Should you be considering another application that you might replace SG with, I would say just try it out and see how things go. You can always reinstall SG anytime you want should you choose to use it again.

If you have the PC power and don't have any replacements in mind for the protections offered by SG, it sure isn't hurting anything being there, either.

4. ~*Nat*~

~*Nat*~ Registered Member

I wouldn't consider uninstalling SG and will keep it...as you said Detox,
    "as an added layer of protection ". But, an update someday would be useful, yes ?

5. Detox

Detox Retired Moderator